Antigua’s Tourism Minister Continues to Receive Commendation for Tourism Minister of the Year

Antigua and Barbuda’s Tourism Minister the Hon. Asot Michael continues to receive commendations from his regional and international colleagues having been named Caribbean Tourism Minister of the Year, 2016 by the Travel publication, Caribbean Journal.

The most recent commendation comes from Tourism and International Transport Minister of Barbados and Former Chairman of the Caribbean Tourism Organization, the Honourable Richard L. Sealy who congratulated Minister Michael and his team for their work in promoting Antigua and Barbuda to the world.

In a letter, Minister Sealy said that the recent award from Caribbean Journal speaks volumes of the intensity of the work being done. “You have impressed not only as a top Caribbean Destination but as a genuine Global Tourism player,” stated Minister Sealy.

The Barbados Tourism Minister also stated that his country shares in Minister Michael’s success as “a victory for him is a victory for the entire Caribbean.”

In naming Minister Michael as recipient of this high recognition, the Journal’s selectors declared that he is one of the Caribbean’s forward-thinking Tourism Ministers who had driven Antigua and Barbuda’s tourism growth.

According to the Government’s notes, the country’s tourism growth this year has already exceeded last year’s number by close to 10% with the end of year surge still to be calculated. They also reported that arrivals from the US market alone have grown by 20%.

Commenting on the messages of congratulations, Minister Michael said that he is further energized and prepared to continue working in the interest of Antigua and Barbuda.

The Minister declared that he was delighted that he and his Ministry “could deliver to all the stakeholders in the Antigua and Barbuda tourist industry, especially the people, a very handsome acknowledgement that hard work pays off”.

The Caribbean Journal also named Antigua and Barbuda as Caribbean Tourism Destination of Year,  and Mr. Colin James as Tourism CEO of the Year.


News Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: